High SchoolAdult Education
Art Show Opened to Public

The public is invited to join us for the Annual “Art Show” which will be held April 27 from 9:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m. in the Durbin Community Room (Room D117) at Four County Career Center. The show will feature unique fine art and digital and graphic designs, all created by senior Visual Art & Design students. The day is coordinated by Visual Art & Design instructor Erin Custer.

FCCC Celebrates County Government Month

As part of “County Government Month,” Four County Career Center hosted Henry County Commissioners Tom VonDeylen, Robert Hastedt and Glenn Miller along with Henry County Recorder Brandi Badon who discussed their roles as elected officials and used the game “Jeopardy” as a means of teaching students.

Government instructors Jason Blue, Brandon Brywczynski, Todd Gambler, and Bill Parsley made the arrangements for the day.

Public is Invited to Project Runway

The public is invited to join us for the 4th Annual “Project Runway” which will be held May 1 at 7:00 p.m. in the multi-purpose room at Four County Career Center. The evening will feature unique hair designs and makeup artistry with matching outfits, all created by senior Cosmetology students and modeled by junior Cosmetology students. Over 30 designs will be displayed throughout the show. A magical runway for the models will be designed by the Floral Design and Interior Design students. The Visual Art & Design students will be taking professional photos of the models as part of the presentation, as well as action photos throughout the evening. Shown above are cosmetology students (LEFT TO RIGHT) Jillian Knipp (Liberty Center) and Mallori Sholl (Hicksville) starting their creations. The evening is coordinated by Cosmetology instructor Kim Dunbar.

Miniature Gardens Displayed at Toledo Zoo

Four County Career Center Floral Design and Landscape & Greenhouse Technologies students will showcase their Miniature Gardens in the Great Hall of the Museum of Science at the Toledo Zoo this coming weekend. As part of the Toledo Zoo’s Earth Day Celebration, they will be hosting their Party for the Planet and display the Miniature Gardens. Students showed their creativity as they designed and created beautiful Miniature Gardens for everyone to enjoy. Florence Luzny, Floral Design instructor, and Eric Hite, Landscape & Greenhouse Technologies instructor, coordinated the event.


Accident Simulation

Four County Career Center and Northwest State Community College recently partnered to offer a triage simulation for registered nursing and Paramedic students. This was the fourth triage simulation that took place at NSCC in the engineering lab. Students responded to the simulated explosion, complete with smoke and sound effects, where they assessed the condition of fourteen victims.

Career Center Fire & Rescue senior students and mannequins were victims, and there was a range of injuries including some who were deceased. After the simulation, everyone gathered to debrief. Instructors provided feedback on the students’ performance, bringing the learning experience full circle. The simulation was designed to provide students with realistic training, which will help prepare them for careers in various health care and public service fields.

Dan Frederick, along with the NSCC Nursing staff coordinated the event.

Students Place in Top Three in State Skills USA

Four students from Four County Career Center placed in the top three in the 2017 Skills USA State competition in Columbus. Three of these students placed 1st earning them the right to advance to national competition in Louisville, Kentucky, June 19-23. These three students from the Career Center will join other conference delegates from across the nation to participate in the 53rd annual National Leadership and Skills Conference.

Students who received these honors are (LEFT TO RIGHT) Jillian Knipp (Liberty Center) who competed in Cosmetology receiving a Bronze medal; Jared Muncy (Patrick Henry); Robert Montgomery (Patrick Henry); and Tiffany Bechstein (Liberty Center), all part of the Crime Scene Investigation Team, received a Gold medal and will be attending the national competition. The Skills Ohio Championships consists of over 80 career, technical and leadership contests. Participants are challenged to complete a project in their area of career and technical training within a specified time period while being scored by a panel of judges.

Skills USA is a national organization for career and technical students training for careers in trade, industrial, technical and health related occupations. Four County Career Center Skills USA Advisors are Krista Whetro and Bill Parsley.

Associate Schools Principals' Tour

Four County Career Center recently held a Member School Principal Tour at the Career Center arranged by Career & Technical Director, Rick Bachman. Principals toured the career and technical labs and saw in-lab demonstrations by the students from the associate schools who attend the Career Center.

Veterinarian Assistant Students Take National Test

Seniors in the Veterinarian Assistant career and technical program at Four County Career Center took the Small Animal Science National Standardized test. This is a hands-on skills assessment and certification which is recognized nationally in the area of small animal science.  Veterinarian Assistant instructor, Stephanie Pippin was in charge of the testing process.

2017 Student Ambassadors

Four County Career Center’s Students Ambassadors are seniors chosen each year based on their teacher’s recommendations and leadership abilities. They represent the school in a variety of capacities including hosting future students and parents as well as area elected officials and members of the community to the Career Center. The 2017 Student Ambassadors are (FRONT - LEFT TO RIGHT) Brianna Mallory, Veterinarian Assistant (Evergreen); Jody Buehrer, Interior Design (Liberty Center); Kaylin Segrist, Health Careers (Pettisville); Abigail Weller, Law Enforcement & Security Tactics (Napoleon); Molly Feller, Health Careers (Hicksville); Cassandra Carpenter, Medical Office Technologies (Fairview); (MIDDLE - LEFT TO RIGHT) Alyssa Imm, Carpentry (Edgerton); Bristle Dix, Pre-Engineering (Stryker); Phoebe Phillips, Veterinarian Assistant (Liberty Center); Abigail Patrick, Law Enforcement & Security Tactics (Montpelier); Jennaya Hibbard, Cosmetology (Fayette); Morgan Wyse, Pre-Engineering (Archbold); Ashley Martin, Early Childhood Education (Defiance); (BACK - LEFT TO RIGHT) Jaryd Hobbs, Automotive Technologies (Archbold); Damien Belmares, Sports Fitness & Exercise Science (Fairview); Brendan Boyd, Accounting & Business Management (Tinora); Josh Hathaway, Accounting & Business Management (Patrick Henry); Devin Dockery, Computer Networking & Repair (Montpelier); and Taylor Snyder, Early Childhood Education (Liberty Center). Absent from the picture is Selena Heckman, Culinary Arts Management (Edon).

Blood Drive

Four County Career Center students and staff recently donated blood during the HOSA Future Health Professionals sponsored Red Cross Blood Drive. HOSA members planned and coordinated the drive and students assisted with donor registration, testing, and blood donations.  Four County HOSA Advisor Robin Hill, Health Careers instructor, coordinated the event.